New Waves: “Time Meant Nothing” by Teepee

By | May 23rd, 2012 | No Comments

Having released the sensational lo-fi opus Morals back in 2009, Erix Laurent (formerly Eric Lopez-Zareno), the 24-year-old Miami musician behind Teepee, is finally set to release its long-awaited follow-up, Distant Love or: Time Never Meant Anything, And Never Will, which features the single “Time Meant Nothing”, a splashing mid-tempo introspective on an overwrought and dying relationship.

Laurent, who has played in Miami bands Electric Bunnies and Melted Sunglasses, took South Florida by surprise with Morals, a highly stylized collection of bedroom pop experimentation that he wrote, performed, and produced by himself. While he also wrote all of the songs on Distant Love, Laurent received some instrumental help this time around: Jorge Balbi, who has worked closely with Sam Friend (that’s Balbi drumming on Sam Friend’s “On a Plain” Nevermind Miami cover) and Fernando Perdomo, mans the drums for most of the upcoming album; longtime Teepee collaborator Albert Ovadia helmed production, engineering, and mixing duties; and notable engineer Brian Lucey (Black Keys, David Lynch, The Shins, Tennis) mastered the album. According to Ovadia, Distant Love took two years to make and will be released towards the end of the 2012.

Follow Beached Miami on Twitter (@beachedmiami) and Facebook and email and RSS.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.